I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Clare Mac

Last year, I Let You Go was one of the biggest selling books and, very deservedly, won the Theakstons Old Peculier  Crime Novel of the Year award just a few weeks ago. Authors often talk about that ‘tricky second book’. I think it’s fair to say that Clare Mackintosh has nothing to worry about!

Imagine you work up in London. Imagine your journey – day in, day out. Soon, you learn the tricks of the Underground. The best place to stand on the platform; the best carriage to be in for a quick exit; maybe you even sit in the same seat. And that becomes your routine – easy, familiar – you don’t even have to think about it. But what if someone else knows your routine and decides to make use of it.

When Zoe Walker, sitting on her usual seat, in her usual carriage, spots her photo with findtheone.com in the Classified adverts of the free paper, she feels deeply uncomfortable. Each day it’s a different woman and it isn’t long before Zoe realises that this isn’t a normal dating service – the women are victims of crime.

Trying to solve the crimes is PC Kelly Swift, a British Transport officer who manages to get herself seconded onto the main investigation team. Kelly has to deal with her own demons and overcome her previous failings as an officer. I really liked this character (I’m wondering how much of Clare Mackintosh (a former officer) is in her) and I hope we’ll see more of her.

I absolutely loved I Let You Go last year. It had the best twist ever and I wondered how Clare Mackintosh could possibly live up to it. I See You is deeply sinister and unnerving, not least because it’s set in London, my home city. I haven’t yet ventured onto the Underground since reading this but I’ll definitely be more alert in future! There are twists aplenty but Mackintosh leaves the best for last. I think it’s fair to say that Clare Mackintosh has another big hit on her hands! A massive five stars!

So, do you want your own copy? I’m giving away 1 hardback this week on my author FB and Twitter. The links are below with all the details! Competition will end Thursday 11th August at 8pm. UK entries only – sorry!

https://www.facebook.com/joykluverauthor/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

If you don’t win my competition then fear not! I’m reliably informed that you can get her book for the amazing price of £5 at Amazon.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/I-See-You-Clare-Mackintosh-ebook/dp/B010QBV1JG/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1470667783&sr=1-1&keywords=clare+mackintosh

Leave a Reply

