Book review #Geneva by @RCArmitage @FaberBooks @JoyKluver

Happy publication day to Richard Armitage for Geneva! Although it’s been out for a while on Audible, it’s now available in hardback. Thank you to Faber Books for an early read via NetGalley. Before I share my thoughts, here’s the blurb.

The Blurb

Nobel Prize-winning scientist Sarah Collier has started to show the same tell-tale signs of Alzheimer’s disease as her father: memory loss, even blackouts. So she is reluctant to accept the invitation to be the guest of honour at a prestigious biotech conference – until her husband Daniel, a neuroscientist, persuades her that the publicity storm will be worth it. The technology being unveiled at this conference could revolutionise medicine forever. More than that, it could save Sarah’s life.

In Geneva, the couple are feted as stars – at least, Sarah is. But behind the five-star luxury, investors are circling, controversial blogger Terri Landau is all over the story, and Sarah’s symptoms are getting worse. As events begin to spiral out of control, Sarah can’t be sure who to trust – including herself.

My Review

Starting with a cinematic opening in the Swiss Alps, it’s clear that Richard Armitage has brought his acting experience into Geneva. I was thrown initially with all the different POVs and it took me a while to settle into it. But once settled, I was gripped. I’m a very visual person and so when I read, I see the chapters as scenes in my head.  We’re never too sure who the antagonist is and for poor Sarah, struggling with Alzheimer’s symptoms, she has less of a clue.

The idea of ‘Neurocell’, a biotech invention capable of overriding neurological conditions, seems both preposterous and plausible at the same time. Richard Armitage plays the balance well, knowing how far to push the plot.

I’ve only spent a few hours in Geneva, and most of that was around the lake, so it wasn’t that easy for me to picture some of the places. Although the traffic jams were captured pretty well! But the whole idea of a biotech billionaire living in his medical institute in the mountains was something I could buy into. There’s a scene where VR headsets are used and I actually felt quite disorientated afterwards. That’s how good the descriptions are.

Overall, it’s a fast-paced thriller, with memorable characters and a plot that, in the near future, could be a reality.

You can buy Geneva here.

The Author

Richard Armitage is a multi-award winning stage, screen and voice actor best known for his roles in Peter Jackson’s trilogy of The HobbitCaptain AmericaAlice through the Looking Glass and Oceans 8Geneva is his first novel

Leave a comment